When I’m Sixty Four

February 2011 is coming to an end and on the 13th of next month I will be 64.

In late 1966 when Paul McCartney completed the song by the above title for the fabulous 1967 “Sgt. Pepper’s lonely Hearts Club Band” I was still a shy 19 year old student at Reading University.

Now I have 6 grandchildren (none of whom are called Vera, Chuck or Dave). I would have never had predicted that.

Neither would I have predicted then that at this stage in my life I would be (almost) retired and would still be regularly visiting my father of 94 and discussing how things were in the old days. When this song was released my Dad was a merely middle aged 50.

Now I really am losing my hair, my wife still sends me Valentines, Birthday Greetings and, on occasions, a bottle of wine; and if I’d been out till quarter to three she would definitely had locked the door but she still needs me and still feeds me.

Back in 1966 I would not have predicted the personal computer revolution. Eleven years later in 1977 when I actually did write an article predicting this market, my employers (at that time ICL) concluded I was mad. If only I had a penny for every personal computer that ICL could have made if they had listened to me.

Copyright © Stuart Danton 2011

Leave a Reply

