The Waitress

On Monday a man in a red leather jacket came into the restaurant where our heroine works.

He sat at the table and he was immediately joined by an ostrich. The man orders a steak with all the dressings, medium rare. The ostrich says “I’ll have the same as him.”

The two of them ate their meal hungrily, washed it down with a cup of coffee and the man finally asked for the bill. Our waitress asks “Did you enjoy your meals?”

The man looks at the ostrich who nods and the man announces “Thank you, we both very much enjoyed our meals”.

She presented the bill and without looking he put his hand in his pocket and pulled out the exact amount to pay the bill.

She watched them leave the restaurant and carried on with her work.

On the Tuesday the man came in again, this time in a plaid jacket. He again sat at the table and again he joined by an ostrich. The man orders Bangers and Mash and the ostrich again says “I’ll have the same as him.”

The two of them ate their meal happily, washed it down with a cup of coffee and the man finally asked for the bill.

Again our waitress asks “Did you enjoy your meals?”

The man looks at the ostrich who nods and the man announces “Thank you, we both very much enjoyed our meals”.

She again presented the bill and without looking the man put his hand in his pocket and pulled out the exact amount to pay the bill.

She watched them leave the restaurant and again carried on with her work.

And so this went on each day of the next two weeks. Each day the man arrived in a different coloured jacket. Each day he was joined by the ostrich. Each day the man ordered a different item from the restaurant’s menu. Each day they would complete the meal with a drink and each day he would ask for the bill and without looking reach into his pocket and withdraw the exact amount of money.

On the third Friday our waitress very curious by now, instead of asking if they had enjoyed their meal, asked the man, “I can’t help but express my curiosity. May I ask how you always know how much the bill will come to and always have exactly the right money to pay for the meal in your pocket?”

“Well,” said the man “Three weeks ago I was walking along the promenade and happened to see a lamp at my feet. Naturally I was curious and picked it up and started to polish it.

“Poof there was a flash of light and a vast amount of smoke, and when it cleared there was a little, aged genie.

“The genie said I had released him from imprisonment in the lamp and he would grant me three wishes.

“So I made my wishes. I wished that I would always have colourful and well fitting clothes, enough money for whatever my needs and that I should always have a tall bird to keep me company.”


 

Leave a Reply

